Mysore


This class is taught by:

David Hollander

HOMETOWN
New York, NY

PHILOSOPHY
David’s goal is to create a steady and safe environment where each individual's practice can flower.

CLASSES AT PURE
Mysore Ashtanga

EXPERIENCE & CERTIFICATIONS
20 Years, Ashtanga, Vinyasa

MENTORS
David's greatest influences are Shri K . Patthabhi Jois, BNS Iyengar, and Shri Sheshadri - all of Mysore India, Shri Brahmananda Sarasvati and his senior students at Ananda Ashram, all of the teachers of the American Yoga Movement in styles from Iyengar to Ashtanga that I have had the honor of learning from and singularly Shyam Das for unveiling sacred and devotional India to this seeker.

BEFORE YOGA
David was a full time artist and art teacher as well as traveling extensively through the USA and Europe.

"Mysore" refers to the way Ashtanga Yoga is traditionally taught in its home city of Mysore, India. This program is one of Pure’s unique and specialized offerings.

In “Mysore” each student is taught individually; given a one-on-one lesson within a group class. This individual approach means Mysore classes are a perfect fit for new and longtime practitioners. Each and every student is guided and supported in an ongoing program that offers an incredible array of strength, flexibility, and flow resulting in a practice that detoxifies, balances, and strengthens both body and mind.

In Mysore class, each student is encouraged to memorize the breathing/movement sequence and develop an independent yet insightfully supported practice.

Kimberly, our program director/senior teacher, has 18 years study in this tradition with 12 visits to India for a total of 4 years spent in Mysore. She has taught this program globally.

Students may arrive at any time up until 9am.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Jun 04 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Jun 11 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Jun 18 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Jun 25 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Jul 16 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Jul 30 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Aug 06 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Aug 13 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Aug 20 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Aug 27 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Sep 03 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Sep 10 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Sep 17 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East
  • Sun Sep 24 8:15 am - 10:45 am with David Hollander
    at Pure East