Momma Core


This class is taught by:

Mary Barnes

Mary Barnes


HOMETOWN

Originally from Minneapolis, MN (has called Manhattan home since 1987!)

 PHILOSOPHY

Having extensively studied and practiced Anusara Yoga for many years, Mary’s classes are both heartfelt and alignment oriented.  She seeks to teach students how to balance the hard and the soft in order to become stronger and more resilient, both on and off the yoga mat.

CLASSES AT PURE

Prenatal, Baby & Me, Momma Core

 EXPERIENCE & CERTIFICATIONS

24 Years, Pre and Post-Natal Yoga

 MENTORS

John Friend

 BEFORE YOGA

Marketing positions on Wall Street and a large NYC law firm. I became certified in Fitness and Yoga, and taught part-time while I held my other corporate positions. I finally got up the nerve to leave my desk job and I started teaching full time in 1992. The next year my first son was born, and I began to create my Yoga For Two Prenatal and Postpartum program. 

Momma Core Yoga is specifically designed by Mary Barnes to help new moms feel strong and centered as they resume their yoga practice during the postpartum months. You will regain your core strength, including your pelvic floor and abdominal muscles, if you commit to a regular practice. Healing your separated abdominal wall (Diastasis Recti), which occurs in many pregnant women, will also be addressed. The class also includes simple yet powerful daily exercises to do at home so that you can reach the goal of healing and strengthening your core. This multi-level flowing Anusara Yoga class is open to all women, no matter how old your children are. Babies are not included in this class. (Please check the schedule for Yoga For Two Baby & Me classes.)

Upcoming classes:

  • Sat Dec 02 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Dec 09 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Amanda Brown
    at Pure West
  • Sat Dec 16 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Dec 23 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Dec 30 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Jan 06 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Jan 13 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Jan 20 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Jan 27 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Feb 03 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Feb 10 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Feb 17 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Feb 24 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Mar 03 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Mar 10 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Mar 17 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West
  • Sat Mar 24 10:00 am - 11:15 am with Mary Barnes
    at Pure West